Ever sent a message you shouldn’t have in the heat of the moment and then immediately regretted it?
Of course you have – we all have.
Thankfully, it looks like Facebook will finally be introducing a much-needed ‘unsend’ feature in the near future, where you can delete messages after they’ve already been sent.
The only catch is that you’ll have to hit unsend within 10 minutes of first sending that message.
That’s cutting it much finer that WhatsApp’s unsend feature, which gives you up to an hour to delete the message.
The plans were discovered in the release notes for Apple's latest iOS, where it stated that the feature is “coming soon”.
— Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) October 12, 2018
The description explains, “Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent.
“If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within 10 minutes of sending it.”
No word yet on the official release date but we can tell it’s gonna come in fairly handy.
INTERESTING... Facebook Messenger‘s long-awaited delete messages feature will only give you a 10 minute window to remove a message in a chat pic.twitter.com/ew1z2WPXbc
— Matt Navarra (@MattNavarra) November 7, 2018