Follow Lovin IE

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin elected Taoiseach

By Alan Fisher

June 27, 2020 at 1:42pm


Micheál Martin, who has led Fianna Fáil since 2011, has been voted Taoiseach of Ireland.

The 33rd Dáil Éireann met in The Convention Centre earlier today to vote for Ireland's next Taoiseach.

Ninty-three TD's voted in favour of Micheál Martin, which included the three parties that form the next government along with some independent TD's, while 63 voted against which include the entire Sinn Féin party.

He will now travel to Áras an Uachtarán where President Michael D Higgins is set to sign Martin as Ireland’s new Taoiseach.

He will sit as Taoiseach until 2022 when the leader of  Fine Gael will step in.



Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin IE including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy