Search icon


12th Feb 2020

Met Eireann has issued 11 counties with a new snow/ice warning

James Fenton

Met Eireann has issued a status yellow snow/ice warning for 11 counties which is due to take effect at 8pm tonight.

An initial warning by Met Eireann was issued on Sunday and was due to last until Tuesday night before being extended to 10am this morning. That advisory had no sooner expired than a new one was issued at 12.29pm today.

The warning applies to all five counties in Connacht as well as Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Louth and Wicklow is valid from 8pm tonight until 1oam on Thursday morning.

The status yellow warning advises that it will be ‘icy in parts tonight with wintry outbreaks. Some snow accumulations possible before morning, mainly across the north and on higher ground elsewhere.’

Looking further ahead, Met Eireann is monitoring the approach of Storm Dennis which is due to arrive in Ireland this weekend. Whatever the case, it looks like a few more days of miserable weather lie ahead.