Search icon


07th Dec 2017

Met Éireann Issue Status Orange Snow Warning For SEVEN Counties

Darragh Berry

Yesterday, Met Éireann issued a fresh warning for snow, snow and more snow for today (Thursday).

That warning has been upgraded from a yellow warning to a status orange snow-ice warning for counties: Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Longford, Leitrim, Mayo and Sligo.

Met Éireann said “snow showers will occur this evening, tonight and during Friday. Accumulations of 4 to 8 cm expected, with the larger values on high ground. Icy roads and footpaths.”

The warning was issued today at 4pm and is in place from 4pm on Thursday until 6pm on Friday 8 December.

As well as this, a status yellow snow-ice Warning has been reissued at the same time for Munster, Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath and Roscommon.

In these places, “occasional snow showers will occur this evening, tonight and during Friday, with accumulations of up to 3 cm expected. Some icy roads and footpaths also.”

If you’re driving or venturing out in this weather, please be careful folks.