Search icon


20th Feb 2020

Rainfall warning issued for four counties tomorrow

Darragh Murphy

Rainfall warning

A rainfall warning has been issued for four counties tomorrow.

Met Eireann has issued the Status Yellow rainfall warning for Donegal, Leitrim, Mayo and Sligo.

The warning comes into effect at 3am on Friday morning and is valid for a full 24 hours.

“25 to 35mm of rain expected during the period,” the rainfall warning reads.

“As the ground is saturated at the moment and river levels are elevated the forecast rainfall may lead to some localised surface and river flooding.”

The last two weekends have seen Ireland battered by Storm Ciara and Storm Dennis respectively and while the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts does show stormy weather approaching Ireland in the coming days, the next storm has not yet been officially named.

It remains possible that the Met Office in the United Kingdom does name the next storm – Storm Ellen – but that has yet to take place.

The reliable Carlow Weather has pointed out that whether or not a storm is named this weekend, Ireland is in for plenty of rain over the next few days, particularly in the west of the country.

Stay tuned to Met Eireann’s social media for any additional weather warnings.

READ NEXT – Six reasons you’ll want to stay in this weekend