Follow Lovin IE

This Handy Map Shows The Birthplace Of Every Irish President

By James Fenton

August 31, 2017 at 7:31am


This might come in hand at the next pub quiz you go to. 

Reddit user ReekLostHisDeek has posted a handy map which points out the birth county (or overseas city) of all nine of Ireland's Presidents. 

Screen Shot 2017 08 31 At 08 19 50

Each number indicates the order in which the Presidents came into power. For example, current Irish leader Michael D. Higgins is the ninth President and as the map indicates, he was born in Limerick. 

The full list is as follows:

1. Douglas Hyde (served 1938-1945, born Co. Roscommon)

2. Seán T. O'Kelly (1945-1959, Dublin)

3. Éamon De Valera (1959-1973, New York)

4. Erskine H. Childers (1973-1974, London)

5. Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh (1974-1976, Wicklow)

6. Patrick Hillery (1976-1990, Clare)

7. Mary Robinson (1990-1997, Mayo)

8. Mary McAleese (1997-2011, Belfast)

9. Micheal D. Higgins (2011- , Limerick)

Have you learned them all off yet?

READ NEXT: PICS: This Viral 'The Star Signs As Enda Kenny' Tumblr Post Has Made Our Day


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin IE including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy