Close

Follow Lovin IE

11 foods that surprisingly aren’t vegan

By Sarah Finnan

January 1, 2020 at 11:10am

Share:

Today marks the start of a new year. Which brings with it an onslaught of well-intentioned health resolutions – the likes of going to the gym more, eliminating alcohol for a given period of time or indulging in fewer sweet treats.

Another popular January phenomenon, one that has grown even more popular in recent years, is Veganuary – a movement that encourages people to go vegan for the month of January (or longer).

Easier said than done I’m sure you’ll agree. Especially when you find out that the following items are surprisingly NOT vegan.

Disclaimer: I am in no way an expert, nor do I pretend to be, so please consult an actual expert if you are considering this major dietary change.

Jellies/Marshmallows

Some people know about this one, some people don’t but if you’re planning on going plant-based then jellies and marshmallows are out. Ok not all jellies and marshmallows, but the vast majority of them. Why? Because they contain gelatin - a translucent, colourless (fairly flavourless) food ingredient derived from collagen that is taken from animal body parts.

View this post on Instagram

It’s an evening for a cosy night in with a delicious comforting hot chocolate 😛 Ingredients 250ml non-dairy milk 1 tbsp. cacao powder 1.5 tbsp. maple syrup Pinch of cinnamon Optional - 1 tbsp. cashew butter to make it extra creamy Optional - vegan marshmallows to top Method In a pot over a medium to high heat add the milk. Once it starts to simmer, lower the heat a little. Add the cacao powder, maple, cinnamon. Then, add the cashew butter to make the hot chocolate extra creamy. Using a balloon whisk mix to ensure it is lump free (I like to pop my mix into a Nutri Bullet or blender to make it smooth and really frothy). For a quick microwave option: Add all the ingredient into a blender and blitz until smooth then pour into a mug and microwave on high for 2 minutes. #naturalbornfeeder #veganhotchocolate #vegan #Christmas #dairyfreehotchocolate

A post shared by Natural Born Feeder (@naturalbornfeeder) on

Honey

This one may seem fairly obvious but it’s actually quite easy to forget that honey is in fact an animal product as it’s made by bees. Opt for maple syrup or agave instead.

Miso Soup

A lot of restaurants use a fish-based broth to make their miso so pay special attention if you’re trying to go vegan (or veggie).

Vegetable Soup

Just because you see the word vegetable does not mean that a product is completely vegan or even vegetarian for that matter. Homemade vegetable soup is fine obviously, as you know what’s going into it, but shop-bought can often include animal stock. Very annoying when you arrive home with what you presumed was a completely plant-based lunch.

Pesto

Vegan alternatives are available but true authentic pesto is made with cheese so isn’t naturally vegan. It may not even be fully vegetarian if the parmesan used contains rennet (taken from the stomach lining of animals).

View this post on Instagram

CHEEZE & PESTO MELT🤤 on rye sourdough. all ingredients from @naomholaffood (back on tomorrow!) the pesto is made from carrot tops! a great way to use up the whole vegetable & only takes 5 mins to make. 🌿🥕RECIPE🥕🌿 ingredients: the green part of about 6 carrots, chopped large handful of basil 3 minced garlic cloves 50g toasted pine nuts or walnuts 100ml olive oil juice of 1/2 a lemon 3 tbsp nutritional yeast salt and pepper to taste method: blend all the ingredients in a food processor. taste and season with more salt/lemon/yeast/garlic etc. stir into pasta, courgette noodles, salads, toasties & whatever else you like your pesto on freeze any leftovers in portions/ice cube trays a la @susanjanekitchen 👩🏽‍🍳 #veganoffal #carrottops #endfoodwaste

A post shared by AISLING 🐝 (@ohhappyveggie) on

Alcohol

Turns out some alcohol, wines and beers, in particular, are clarified using fish bladders, bone marrow and gelatin. Other non-vegan ingredients that some alcohols could include are honey, dairy, casein (made from milk) and egg whites. WHY DOES NO ONE TELL YOU THIS?

Jam

Again, not every jam, but some jams contain gelatin - seems to be a hidden ingredient in a lot of foods I like. The key is to look for jams with pectin rather than gelatin. Pectin is a vegan alternative that is made with fruit…so you don’t have to cut it out completely, yay!

Dark Chocolate

While most dark chocolates don’t use dairy, there are some that still do. Try to stick to the better-quality options – those with a higher percentage of cocoa, as they’re usually dairy-free.

View this post on Instagram

Happy Christmas 🎄 Hope everyone has a wonderful day, thank you so much for all your support and love with #naturalbornfeeder 🥰 Now, is it too early to dig into my vegan chocolate Christmas cake??? Ingredients 350ml almond milk 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar 250g cane sugar 150 ml oil (olive, vegetable) 2 tsp. vanilla paste 220g plain/gluten free flour 4 tbsp. cacao powder 1/2 tsp. baking powder 1 tsp. baking soda Pinch salt Frosting 400g vegan dark chocolate melted 1 tin coconut milk cream refrigerated (white part scooped out) Method 2 x 8” springform tins lined. Preheat oven 180°C. In a large bowl combine all the cake ingredients using a balloon whisk. Spoon this mix into two lined tins dividing evenly. Bake for 25 minutes. Let cool fully before assembling. For the frosting. Remove the coconut milk tin from the fridge and open, scoop out the hardened white part (the cream) there should be 3-4 tbsp. Melt the chocolate and stir in the coconut cream. Stir until there are no lumps. The chocolate will thicken into a creamy spread. Layer up the cake by spreading half the mix between the two sides of cake and a layer on top. Finish off by adding winter berries to top it off. #naturalbornfeeder #recipes #vegan #Christmas #chocolatecake #festive

A post shared by Natural Born Feeder (@naturalbornfeeder) on

Fruit Juice

Even this one was a shock to me. Apparently, some brands of juice contain nutrient and vitamin additives that are derived from animals such as omega 3 oils (derived from fish) or vitamin D (obtained from lanolin from sheep’s wool). Sigh.

Chewing gum

Some brands contain…yep, you guessed it, gelatin. Is nothing safe?

Pasta

Don’t worry, you don’t have to eliminate pasta (thank God, says you). Just be wary that most fresh pasta contains eggs, so stick with dry pasta which is generally vegan-friendly. Check the label to be sure to be sure.

More often than not, if a product is vegan it will tell you so (why do all the hard work and not shout about it?). So, if you’re scouring the ingredients list but are still left unsure, odds are unless the word ‘vegan’ is in plain sight, it can’t be guaranteed as 100 per cent so.

If in doubt, leave it out.

The more you know eh?

 

READ NEXT: Ban on dumping clothes in rubbish bins proposed to help reduce ‘fast fashion’ waste

Share:

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin IE including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy