17 Counties Have Been Hit With A Status Orange Snow Warning This Weekend

By James Fenton

June 18, 2018 at 10:52am


Parts of Ireland woke up to blankets of snow today while others only got a light smattering of the white stuff.

This weekend however, it looks like as many as 17 counties will experience significant snowfall. Met Éireann issued a status orange warning to 17 counties on Friday as 'slippery paths and treacherous roads' are expected.

The counties being warned to watch out are:

Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo.

The warning is valid from Saturday at 11pm until the same time on Sunday. If you're out on the town this weekend be sure to get home safely!

READ NEXT: Experts Say These Tips Will Stop You Making A Show Of Yourself At The Work Christmas Party


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin IE including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy