Search icon


15th Jan 2018

A Snow-Ice Weather Warning Has Been Issued For 17 Counties

Darragh Berry

Anyone for a snow day?

Met Éireann has issued a Status Yellow Snow-Ice warning for the following counties: The whole of Connacht, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath and Meath

They are saying that “widespread wintry showers may lead to snow accumulations”. The warning was issued on Monday morning at 10am and will be in place from Tuesday, 16th January at 6am until Wednesday, 17th January at 3am. 

There is also a Status Yellow Wind Warning for Donegal, Galway, Mayo, Sligo, Clare, Cork, Kerry and Limerick.

“Westerly winds will reach mean winds speeds of 50 to 65 km/h with gusts of 90 to 110km/h at times. Winds will moderate for a time during Wednesday but further wind warnings likely for Wednesday night.

This warning is in place from Monday night at 9pm until Wednesday at 3am. 

Turning our attentions to Monday, there will be sunny spells with widespread showers with some of the showers getting heavier with the risk of hail and sleet on higher ground in the north. 

It will gradually turn colder throughout the day and temperatures will fall to between 4 and 8 degrees in the afternoon, coldest in the north. 

Tonight, widespread showers will continue, some heavy and with the risk of hail or thunder, especially in the west and north. 

The showers will be wintry over higher ground at first but later in the night also on lower levels. Lowest temperatures will be zero to plus 3 degrees.

Make sure to take care out there, folks. 

READ NEXT: Ryanair Has Announced A Massive Seat Sale For Blue Monday