Search icon


26th Feb 2018

A Status Orange Snow-Ice Warning Has Been Issued For These Seven Counties

Darragh Berry

They said it would happen and it seems as though the “Beast from the East” will start its white reign of terror on Ireland on Tuesday.

Met Éireann’s latest weather warning which was issued at 11:24pm on Monday is a Status Orange Snow-Ice warning for seven counties: Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Laois, Louth, Wicklow and Meath

They say that there will be “scattered snow showers late on Tuesday and Tueday night which will lead to accumulations of 4 to 6 cm by Wednesday morning. 

Widespread frost and icy conditions also.

The warning has been put in place from Tuesday 27th February at 3pm until Wednesday 28th of February at 11am. 

As well as this, they have also issued a second weather warning which is a status yellow snow-ice warning for Kilkenny, Longford, Wexford, Offaly, Westmeath, Cork, Tipperary and Waterford

Accumulations of up to 3 cm are expected in some parts by Wednesday morning.

You can find more information about how the week will unfold according to the weather experts here.