Search icon


15th Jan 2020

Johnny Sexton is the new Ireland captain as Six Nations squad announced

James Fenton

Johnny Sexton has been confirmed as Ireland captain for the upcoming Six Nations campaign which kicks off on Saturday, February 1 against Scotland.

New head coach Andy Farell has named a 35-man squad for the annual tournament, which includes five uncapped players. They are Billy Burns and Tom O’Toole, both of Ulster, as well as Leinster trio Max Deegan, Caelan Doris and Ronan Kelleher.

Leinster’s Johnny Sexton will captain the squad, taking over the reins from the retired Rory Best. The out-half captained Ireland for the first time against Russia during last year’s World Cup.

In other news, Devin Toner returns to the fold after his much-publicised omission from the World Cup squad, while Rhys Ruddock and Niall Scannell are among the players to miss out.

Following the opener against Scotland at the Aviva Stadium, Johnny Sexton will lead Ireland into battle against Wales at home (February 8), England away (February 23), Italy at home (March 7) and France away (March 14).

More information on Johnny Sexton’s captaincy as well as further details on today’s Six Nations squad announcement can be found here.