Search icon


28th Feb 2018

Met Eireann Has Issued A Status Red Weather Warning For These Five Counties


The Beast from the East is here and Met Eireann has issued a Status Red weather warning for five counties: Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow and Meath. 

The snow-ice warning was issued at 5am this morning and applies from then until midday tomorrow. 

Heavy overnight snowfall has led to build ups between 5 and 10cm. 

There will be more snow showers today and tonight, which will also stick to the ground. 

“Total snowfall up to midday Thursday may reach 25cm,” said Met Eireann. 

Flights from Dublin Airport have already been cancelled, public transport will be disrupted and many schools and universities will be closed.

At the moment, a Status Orange snow-ice warning is in place for Wexford, Cork and Waterford, Carlow, and Laois. 

READ NEXT: Applegreens Nationwide Are Selling 2 Snow Sleds For €5 – Let The Fun Begin