Follow Lovin IE

The Government has finalised its list of 15 countries that are safe to travel to without restricting movements

By James Fenton

July 22, 2020 at 9:33am


The Government has published its green list of countries which will be safe for people to travel to without having to restrict their movements for 14 days upon return.

There had been much speculation over which countries would be included the green list, with popular holiday destinations like Spain, France and Portugal expected to be excluded. Last night, it was confirmed that the three countries mentioned have not made the green list as they have significantly higher rates of Covid-19 infection than Ireland.

The 15 countries that are on the green list are as follows...

Malta, Finland, Norway, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Cyprus, Slovakia, Greece, Greenland, Gibraltar, Monaco and San Marino.

The Government has stated that 'anyone arriving into Ireland from these countries will not have to restrict their movements. Passengers from any other country outside of those with a Normal Precautions advisory are asked to restrict their movements for 14 days.

'The list will be reviewed on a fortnightly basis, based on advice from officials including public health experts. There is no change to the current policy in respect of travel from Northern Ireland.'

While these countries are deemed safe to travel to without isolating afterwards, the Government has reiterated that 'the Pandemic is not over and the public health advice remains the same. The safest thing to do is not to travel.'

The full Government statement issued this morning can be read here.

Need inspiration for staying at home? Sign up to our Lovin Home Comforts newsletter here.

(header image:


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin IE including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy