Search icon


05th Feb 2018

Things Are Getting Very Serious As Snow-Ice Weather Warning Issued For 18 Counties

Darragh Berry

On Friday, we said that an Arctic Snap was on the way to Ireland and was set to bring an accumulation of snow with it. 

That possibility seems to be getting ever closer as Met Éireann have issued a weather warning for snow and ice.

The Status Yellow snow-ice weather warning has been issued for 18 counties: Dublin and the whole of Leinster, Cavan, Monaghan, Leitrim, East Cork, Tipperary and Waterford.

They say that on Monday evening and Monday night, falls of snow will give accumulations of 0 to 3 cm leading to hazardous conditions on roads and footpaths.

The warning was issed at 5am on Monday morning and is in place from Monday evening at 6pm until Tuesday morning at 4am.

Stay safe out there if you are travelling in these conditions. 

READ NEXT: 14 Of The Best Irish Tweets About Kylie Jenner’s Baby Announcement