Search icon


30th Dec 2020

Snow and ice warnings issued to eight counties

Rory Cashin

The updated warnings are in place until Thursday morning.

As we reported earlier, the weather this week is going to be properly baltic, with windchill to drop to as low as -5 tonight.

While Met Eireann had already issued some snow and ice warnings this week, they have just posted some new ones, along side some fresh warnings from the Met UK for counties in Northern Ireland.

Met Eireann’s status yellow snow and ice warning has been issued to Donegal, Leitrim, and Sligo, with the warning stating that “Further falls of snow in places today (Wednesday) and tonight leading to accumulations in some areas.” This weather warning is in place until 7am on Thursday, aka New Year’s Eve.

Met UK have also issued a status yellow snow and ice warning, to Antrim, Armagh, Fermanagh, Tyrone, and Derry. Their warning states that “Snow and ice may bring some disruption from later on Tuesday and through into Thursday morning.” This weather warning will remain in place until 11am on Thursday.

Best stay indoors for the foreseeable, and if you are heading out, make sure you wrap up warm.

READ NEXT: One of the best documentaries of 2020 will be shown on Irish TV tonight