Search icon


30th Jan 2021

Snow warning issued for 18 counties starting from 6am on Sunday

James Fenton

Met Éireann has issued a status yellow snow/ice warning for 18 counties that will be vaild from 6am on Sunday.

The warning was issued at 1pm on Saturday and takes in all five counties of Connacht as well as Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath and Meath.

It will be valid from 6am until 6pm on Sunday and says ‘wintry falls with some accumulations possible.’

Temperatures on Saturday night could drop to as low as minus one degree and Sunday is being described as a ‘very cold day in general.’

‘Wintry outbreaks of rain, sleet and snow will become widespread on Sunday morning’ with lowest temperatures of zero degrees on Sunday night. You can read a more detailed outlook from Met Éireann via this link.

(header pic: Shutterstock)

READ NEXT: Cabu Cabins is the perfect place for a staycation when things get back to normal