Follow Lovin IE

The EU has issued a 'safe list' of 14 countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter

By James Fenton

June 30, 2020 at 4:26pm


The European Union has issued a 'safe list' of 14 countries whose citizens will be allowed to travel to its 27 member states.

Approval was given by the EU on Tuesday for the safe list which comprises Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. EU member states aren't obliged to allow people in from these nations and those who wish to travel to a certain country should check with the country they wish to visit before doing so. China could also be included in the list if it reciprocates by allowing EU citizens in.

The United States is seen as a major omission from the EU's safe list, while Russia and Brazil have also been excluded. The list is aimed at 'supporting the EU travel industry and tourist destinations, particularly countries in southern Europe hardest hit by the Covid-19 pandemic.'

Meanwhile, Ireland's Chief Medial Officer Dr Tony Holohan has called on Irish citizens to cancel any foreign holidays they may have already booked for this summer. He said that the National Public Health Emergency team had noticed a "worrying increase in the number of travel-related Covid-19 cases recently" and that "it would not just be in your individual interest but in our collective interest" to cancel any holiday plans. You can read more about Dr Holohan's quotes here.

Need inspiration for staying at home? Sign up to our Lovin Home Comforts newsletter here.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin IE including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy